Allied Members are not Architects, but are professionals in related fields, who collaborate with and support Architects in the creation of the built environment.

Every two years since 1968, the AIA Long Beach/South Bay Chapter has celebrated outstanding architecture through its Biennial Design Awards Program.  Our Design Awards Program recognizes achievements for a broad range of architectural works that elevate the general quality of architectural practice, establish a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, and inform the public of the breath and value of architectural practice.  To achieve these goals, the Design Awards Program seeks to recognize both Architecture and Interior Design.

2015 Design Awards . . .

Design Awards 2015A variety of building type categories and sizes were considered and projects were submitted in September 2015.  Awards were conferred in the categories of Honor, Merit, and Citation and were presented at the Design Awards Dinner & Ceremony on October 10, 2015.  Our esteemed Jury for 2015 was Mr. Hank Koning, FAIA, FRAIA, Mr. Gwynne Pugh, FAIA, ASCE, LEED AP, and Mr. Michael Rotondi, FAIA.


Kelly Sutherlin McLeod, FAIA, Project Architect, Kelly Sutherlin McLeod Architecture, Inc. – Olan G. and Aida T. Haffley House – Honor Award, Historic Preservation Category

Steve Flanagan, AIA, Principal, LPA, Inc. – El Camino College – Math, Business & Allied Health Building – Honor Award, Institutional / Educational Category

Michael Lee, AIA, Michael Lee ArchitectsCarla Ridge – Honor Award, Residential Category

Michael Bohn, AIA, Senior Principal, Studio One Eleven – Lakewood YMCA – Merit Award, Commercial Category

Patrick Tighe, FAIA, Principal, Patrick Tighe Architecture – Garrison House – Merit Award, Residential Category

Yu-Ngok Lo, AIA, CDT, LEED AP, Principal, YNL Architects, Inc. – Spatial Reclamation – Street Median – Merit Award, Un-built / Theoretical Category

Kevin P. Quan, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP bd+c, Associate, TSK – North Butte County Courthouse – Merit Award, Institutional / Educational Category

Alan Pullman, AIA, Senior Principal, Studio One Eleven – Formosa South at The Lot – Merit Award, Commercial Category

Robert Murrin, FAIA, LEED-AP, Principal – Education Studio, AC Martin – Center for the Arts – Pasadena City College – Merit Award, Interiors Category

Michael Bohn, AIA, Senior Principal, Studio One Eleven – Long Beach Parklet Program – Citation Award, Jury Award for Urban Design

Grant C. Kirkpatrick, AIA, Partner, Kirkpatrick Architects, a KAA Design Company – Balance Hill – Citation Award, Residential Category

Rick D’Amato, AIA, Principal, LPA, Inc. – West Hollywood Recreation and Aquatic Center – Citation Award, Un-built / Commissioned Category

Robert Murrin, FAIA, LEED-AP, Principal – Education Studio, AC Martin – Digital Media Arts – Citation Award, Historic Preservation Category

Satoshi Teshima, AIA, LEED, AP BD+C, Senior Project Designer, HGA Architects and Engineers – Los Angeles Harbor College, Sciences Complex – Citation Award, Institutional / Educational Category

 Media Information

AIA ARCHITECT – November 13, 2015, publication

AIA LBSB Design Award Winners – Jury Comments & Photos

AIA LBSB Design Awards 2015 Press Release


Many, many thanks to our wonderful hosts at the Rancho Los Alamitos.

Thank you to our Annual Chapter Sponsors:

AIA LBSB Chapter Sponsors

AIA LBSB Chapter Sponsors

Menu Title